University of Toronto

Michelle Johnson


Death Becomes Her (Adams)
Inkjet Print
24 x 16


Death Becomes Her (Warhol)
Inkjet Print
16 x 24

Michelle Johnson
Photography IV class
From Death Becomes Her Series – 2 of 4

Personal statement: I have been fortunate enough not to have many people die in my life, but this fact has also warped my views on death. To me, my conception of death is purely a visual conceit developed from art and popular culture. In these images, I appropriate the image of a dead woman who jumped to her death and landed on a car, and then was immortally appropriated in the repetitive prints of Andy Warhol. The second image is of the famous execution of a Vietcong prisoner in the middle of street, as photography6 by Eddie Adams.

6 thoughts on “Michelle Johnson”

  1. I enjoy the top image. The colors/textiles/etc. are appealing. I think you captured the effect of recreating the key aspects of the original image well too.

  2. I’m not familiar with the Warhol image you speak of, but I certainly know the infamous Vietnam war photo. The hair dryer is a clever take on it. Maybe you could reshoot it so the connection is more obvious?

  3. I am also not familiar with the Andy Warhol picture you are referencing. I tried to look it up but found nothing. I really like the second picture though. All the textures are visually pleasing. It could be my computer but the picture looks slightly out of focus? I like the subject matter of the first photograph but think that you could have used more contrast.

  4. I like your concept, but just tighten a few things technically. I think you could create a more interesting composition for the first one, and although I like the second composition, the image does seem out of focus.

Leave a comment