4 thoughts on “Walt Perkins”

  1. I would be curious to hear about your concept for this work as well as where you plan to take it, whether it is part of a series, etc. They have the feel of being documentary photography, and I am curious to know if that is what you are going for. In looking at the images, I start to wonder about the relationships between the people portrayed, as well as their relationship to the photographer, and I wonder how this could be explained and further explored.

  2. Are these self portraits of your everyday life? If this is part of a larger series I hope that you (or your main model) keep your eyes focused on the camera in each shot. It begins to tell a story about that individual and how the person fits in and responds to different aspects of life. I really like the lighting and the use of color in the top image especially.

  3. Im really drawn to your first image, I enjoy the caught in the act kind of moment. Everything in the image allows the viewer to come up with their own interpretation of the scene. With the first image your not interacting with the camera as much as in the second where you are directly interacting, i think thats what makes the first image so strong and engaging. Your second image just looks, maybe unrealistic. It looks like your showing of the sheet or flying, and your environment doesn’t say or do anything for that image either. I think you have something going for you in the top image, and i’d be interested in seeing more like it.

  4. I really like the use of lighting in these photographs. Both of the photographs have a lot of shadow, which looks great. Usually I prefer candid shots, however I like the intensity in these photographs of the subject looking at the photographer. I would like to see more pictures and understand the concept for this work.

Leave a comment