6 thoughts on “John Andrew Yerger”

  1. I love the look of the first image-it allows one to see nature in its beauty in another light. The studio lighting image is captivating with the use of lighting and black and white. I love how it captures the man and a part of who he is.

  2. I was instantly drawn to your first picture. I think the lighting and colors are beautiful and give it a dreamlike look. I really like your second picture too. Having the picture be in black & white adds a certain intensity to it, especially mixed with the lighting you used and the expression on his face. I kind of wish the cigar was lit and you could maybe see some smoke coming off from it, but it’s just personal opinion. Overall I really enjoy these.

  3. I really love these pictures. I like that you made the first one look sort of like a pop-up book… especially the mountains. The mountains look like they were cut out from a different picture and glued onto this one. In the second image, I agree with Courtney – I wish that the cigar was lit and that the highlights from the burning section were showing. But otherwise I love the sharp quality of the image and the fact that the lighting is so dramatic.

  4. I’m very drawn to the black & white portrait. Your use of lighting is strong and the image gives the viewer a glimpse into this man’s life. It makes me curious to know his story, he looks like a man who has seen many things in his lifetime.
    The first image is interesting, it has a dreamlike quality to it, and almost looks like the elements have been collaged together.

  5. I find an interesting relationship between both of these images. I agree with the comments above that the first image looks like a still for a certain moment of time. There is an interesting contrast between the colored and black and white print. You can really see how the lighting effects both images. The black and white print has great contrast, where the mountain image has more subtle transitions.

  6. The style of the color image reminds me of paper doll cut-outs and grainy films from the mid-20th century. The color has echoes of Japanese woodblock prints by Kawase Hasui. The effect of this combination places the photo in realm of nostalgia. It is a stage set I’d like to enter.

Leave a Reply

