Megan Schulz

Cinderella
Cinderella Image: Oh, now, now, now, now, now, just a minute. You must understand, my dear: On the stroke of twelve, the spell will be broken, and everything will be as it was before.

SleepingBeauty
Sleeping Beauty Image: The princess shall indeed grow in grace and beauty, beloved by all who know her. But… before the sun sets on her 16th birthday, she shall prick her finger, on the spindle of a spinning wheel – AND DIE!

Megan Schulz
Art 380: Contemporary Photographic Strategies
Digital Print; 61.44″ x 40.96″
Two of two

10 thoughts on “Megan Schulz

  1. I would never in my life have interpreted sleeping beauty as an overdose victim. But I guess that is more practical than the fairy tale. I love how the image is not afraid to tackle a situation like drug overdose while alluding to a classic fairy tale. Perhaps a statement about how fame can mess with your mind and the problems with drugs at a young age?

  2. These are two very powerful pictures. It has very strong imagery and looks a lot better in b&w than I think it would color. I really like the angle on the top picture but not so much on the bottom. I think the picture could be lightened up a little bit and maybe have focus on the pill bottle and had everything else out of focus, or possible even the hand with the pills. Overall, great pictures and theme.

  3. I love the concept here. Using fairytales to represent real life situations and in dark ways that I’ve never considered before. It’s a great idea. I agree that I like the angle of the first picture. I also love how the shoe is lying on the step below her, like the spell was broken and she fell to her death because of it while losing her shoe. Also the drug overdose idea for sleeping beauty is an interesting take on it. I think it’s very powerful. I agree that the B&W is working better than color would.

  4. These are such strong pieces. Interpreting sleeping beauty as a girl who overdosed is immensely creative. If anything, it would be nice to see that one a little sharper and I’m not all sure what the theme behind Cinderella is. All in all, very great pieces and the black and white add a deeper and darker feel to what usually is a fun and loving theme.

  5. The subtle, yet strong contrast between the grays, blacks and whites is perfect. The whole composition is well balanced and detailed, it reminds me of film noir genre from the 40’s. My favorite is the first one. Her light dress clashes beautifully against the dark stairs.

  6. I wouldn’t have looked at these images and said they were based off of fairytale stories. Perhaps use more props, wardrobe, better locations, and more common poses. Then adding the twist to it. The black and white seems pretty dark in the shadows and not correct in the highlights. Also, I agree that they would look better in color.

  7. The concept behind these two pictures is really intriguing. I think I would have preferred to see them in color though. Disney movies are always very colorful and pretty, and it would have been interesting to contrast that with colors that are dark and vibrant.

  8. The take on these fairy tales is absolutely brilliant. Many young girls grow up watching these fairy tales and it’s because of them that we have these unrealistic expectations of ourselves and who we should be. We all need to be beautiful, thin, subservient, and seeking a man who can provide for us.
    But a lot of people don’t understand that it shattering it can be to mental health and self confidence when you grow up thinking you HAVE to be like those princesses and you just can’t be. Not everyone grows up to be classically beautiful, dangerously thin, pale as the fucking moon, with men fawning at their feet. And when these girls grow up thinking they need to have/be all those things it leads to self destructive thoughts and behavior. Life for young girls isn’t easy or perfect like the media portrays it and I think this is a great representation of that.

  9. I would have never thought as sleeping beauty as over dosing on pills, it’s kind of a twisted but interesting concept to think of. Also, I really like how you made these picture black and white, it really added a scary, mysterious. I think maybe reduce the noise and sharpening the image, would enhance its quality. But overall I really enjoy this image.

Leave a Reply

