Jessica Blodgett

Blog-image-#1

Jessica Blodgett
ART 3470: Digital Photography I
Digital Print; 8.5″ x 11″

Description: I was searching to explore shallow depth of field. I wanted to photograph something important to me rather than just anything I could find. This trailer and these chains have been lying in my parents back yard for as long as I can remember. I wanted to focus on the weather, rusted appearance because I remember as a child always thinking the old trailer was gross and dirty, and coming back as an adult I can fully appreciate the beauty of its age.

2 thoughts on “Jessica Blodgett

  1. I enjoy how the image alone does not provide enough context to know what the chain is attached to. Because of the way it hangs, it really creates a sense of tension, and invites the viewer to imagine what is outside of the frame. The sharp focus obscuring the detail in the back is another nice touch.

  2. I love the subject matter and I like the use of DOF in this picture. I like how the orange of the picture contracts with the green of the background. I also like the composition of it.

Leave a Reply

