Mississippi State University, photography

Rebekah Frisch

_MG_1893

_MG_2790

Rebekah Frisch
ART 4593: Photographic Portfolio II
Digital Prints; 8″ x 10″
20 in series

In this series I am exploring the objectification of women. I am taking stereotypical feminine poses, which have long been viewed as inviting to the sexual pleasure of men and placing material as a barrier between the object of desire and the viewer. The viewer is then left with just the pose, which exposes the absurdity of the whole situation.

9 thoughts on “Rebekah Frisch”

  1. Far from abstract figures, these shadows are clearly women. This proves your point of stereotyping women poses. The framing is interesting in that you created lots of tension around the model, which forces you to look at the models outline/shape. The use of color is also used cleverly, in that it helps bring identity to each model separately.

  2. Making silhouette is always a great way to shoot figures. The pictures look so good. But I think you might need some emphasis to express the specific theme.

  3. What stands out to me as a great touch in these photos is the softness of the silhouette. Usually silhouettes seem harsh with solid outlining, however, the softness resembles a type of movement. It appears as though the women are in motion, especially when focusing on their flowing hair. Finally, I found the hand placement in the first photo to be extremely interesting as it almost seems like the woman is trapped in some sort of box.

  4. This is a very interesting concept for a series. As a society, we often are surrounded by things that objectify one gender or the other, but it is usually shown in a more extreme manner. I wouldn’t have necessarily gotten that showing the absurdity of the situation was your goal from these photos, however. I viewed them more as something that is beautiful in its own right. I think slightly more clarity in the images might have helped, but overall I still really like the images.

  5. I love the movement captured in this series. With the minimal color I find myself focusing on the subtleties hiding in the shadows – hair, curves, lips, these typically-appealing feminine features feel almost strained. The usual feminine ease is paired with the undertones of the female struggle.

  6. I appreciate bringing the idea of objectification of women to the forefront. By creating silhouettes, it simply brings attention to the body, yet in these silhouettes I enjoy the soft lines created by the light and color. It offers a less abrasive view on the body and a softness to the poses the women are in. I also enjoy the colors as they do not add another emotional layer to the photos as other colors would.

  7. I like the silhouette of the two women, and how the blurriness of the hair shows the movement of the dancing. The only nitpick I have is the background could use better contrast by having it be lighter.

  8. After reading your statement I understand your intentions better. I think the poses work well but the hand in the top photograph is a little too clear compared to the rest of the photographs. I think it almost reads as the woman conveying “stop”, which is really interesting. The pose on the bottom is definitely the most feminine pose out of the two. I like the colors and contrast and motion.

Leave a Reply

