17 thoughts on “Caitlin Lentz”

  1. With these sets of photos I really enjoyed looking at both scenes and depicting each individual photo. The one on the top was somewhat hard to understand because I couldn’t tell right off the bat what exactly it was. The photos stitch together in kind of an odd matter making my eye distracted by the negative space, both top and bottom. The setting itself was also somewhat distracting because although the road and trees to the right had a very interesting light casted across them, the land to the left was somewhat ominous. On the other hand I very much liked the set on the bottom for many reasons. The natural curve of the mountain played great effect in the way the pictures come together not only criss crossed but also in an organic curve. Although the lighting somewhat varies throughout each photo they still piece together well to make up the whole scenery. Good job!

  2. I really enjoyed your take on how multiple photographs can interact. The scenes were very continuous but varying colors and values across some of the photographs broke it up and made me look deeper into the scene, sectionalizing it, which I found intriguing.

  3. These photographs blur the line between collage and photomontage. They reminds of the work of Sohei Nishino, who use tens of thousands of 35mm contact prints to make cityscape collage. The idea of using multiples to create a unique image is an interesting response to traditional photography practice where you create one image and print editions.

  4. I love how you played up the imperfection of stitching multiple photos together. Instead of asking us only to focus on the landscape/the final result, you made the process itself very obvious, so that we could not ignore it. Sometimes seeing the imperfections of photo stitching is annoying and shows poor workmanship, but in this case you exaggerated it so that it became a part of the piece itself. It makes us aware that photography isn’t simply snapping a photo and displaying the result; it can be many shots and lots of post-processing

  5. I really enjoyed how I can examine both the full panorama view, as well as the details of each individual picture. I enjoyed the imperfect stitching, creating more of a collage feel to the picture. The colors also drew me into the picture, the seem to slightly change within each picture, almost appearing to be a time lapse as well.

  6. I really enjoy this technique—it reminds me a lot of what David Hockney did in his work. Personally I think these are very visually appealing; the colors are beautiful and vibrant, as are the scenes. This is a technique I’m interested in exploring myself.
    I’m curious to how you actually executed this: whether you printed the photos and aligned them by hand or whether you did so in photoshop. Due to the crispness and cleanliness of the execution, I’m assuming photoshop.
    These photos would be beautiful on their own, but the collaging adds so much more interest to the typical landscape. You’ve created your own panorama.

  7. The level of white balance and the level of color saturation is excellent. The photos are very crisp and the placement of the photos creates a pleasing organic interpretation of panoramic images.

  8. I love how you varied the color from dark on the left to lighter on the right. It creates an impression of shadow or playing with light sources.

  9. I really enjoy these photos. They are a mix of a panoramic photo and a collage and I think that makes the grouping really strong. With the content of what you were photographing, trees and leaves, etc, that are typically found in nature in groups and clusters. It really works that you grouped and clustered these photos to create one whole work, just like trees and leaves cluster to create one whole forest. Very strong.

  10. While normally I would prefer the saturation and lighting be uniform across the panoramic, because of the collage style here I think the mix-matched tones actually enhance the success of these pieces. I really get the feeling that these are individual photos, which creates this great vision for me of the artist investing time laying out pictures, cutting, and pasting them together on her floor – without the use of photoshop. Because these are digital prints, I can assume this was not the case, but I think they are quite successful in attaining that same nostalgic feeling.

  11. Among these two interesting panoramas, I prefer the second one for its more dynamic framing. It reminds me what Judd has once critiqued painting that the rectangular frame has limited the possibility of the form, and what inside the frame has to go along with the edge. What is great about your second picture is that your allow the frame to go along with the content, floating up and down along with the landscape, in a rhythm that has a certain aesthetic in it. I’d love to see more.

  12. Really cool idea here. I love the idea of an interrupted panorama, and you’ve executed it perfectly. I only wish I could see the photos up close. Both series of photos are absolutely majestic–I can almost smell the fresh country air. I also think it’s cool how you didn’t keep the saturation the same throughout the photos on the bottom. It gives it a collage-like feel

  13. I love your photo!! I like your idea. It is really great! I like how to combine and rotate the photo. I like your purpose. Great job!

  14. The saturation of the panorama views are great. I also really enjoy getting to see the differences due to the orientation of which you held your camera and how it effects the photos, especially in the second image. I’d like to see more places photographed in this style.

  15. The second one is interesting. The cloud seems to be connected, so I was wondering if this photo was just one wide angle shot with some Photoshop or many shots taken quickly. In the first photo the sky is kind of overexposed, so it is hard to see the effect.

  16. I think it’s really cool how these compositions seem to tell a narrative. It reminds me of how photos taken from a trip tell the story of what happened, and these all connect into the bigger picture. The colors depict a kind of utopian scenario, which can relate to photos from vacations as well. Over all, this is a very successful series.

Leave a Reply

