12 thoughts on “Jeff Pettit

  1. I like the way you’ve used light in the top photo. Since the girl is standing in the dark with light only coming from windows far behind her, the way her phone illuminates her face and seems especially meaningful. It seems to bring up technology’s power to transport someone, thereby disengaging them from their physical surroundings. It also makes her seem less alone and makes me wonder what she’s looking at. A very intriguing photo!

  2. I loved the lighting, or lack of lighting, in these pictures. While I can still see the outlines of the objects in the picture, I feel as though I can use my imagination to fill in the darkness. All of the other light in the picture, despite being small and in the distance, make it appear that the girl is not alone or in a deserted place. I agree that both these pictures remind me that technology can be a portal into a whole different world, illuminating some people’s life. I enjoy the simplicity of the second picture and how just the one light seems to illuminate the whole picture.

  3. The emphasis on the little light shown in each of these photographs are extremely interesting and really caught my eye when scrolling through this site. The two photos really give off this creepy, mysterious feel with the darkness almost entirely circulating the photos, with only some spotlights highlighting the main subjects in each. The choice of having the girl in the top photo and the emergency post on the bottom makes me wonder if the two photos are linked, hinting at the girl about to be in some sort of trouble, or if they’re completely unrelated at all. The girl in the top seems completely cut out from the world and immersed in her phone, in her own little world in a way, with the darkness surrounding her. Overall these are pretty powerful photographs and I’d love to learn more about what the story is behind each picture.

  4. Photography is really a game of painting with Light, and with these images that idea has been pushed to the limit with great success. Both images are wonderfully cinematic, and evoke a David Fincheresque quality. The strong dark and light contrast also serves as a sort of homage to the paintings of Caravaggio, which only serves to reinforce the idea of “painting” with light.

    Some photographers don’t believe in using an absolute black in their image, but in my opinion when such dramatic lights and dark’s appear it sets a wonderfully gritty tone to the image. The darkness makes us wonder, and can evoke a sort of primal fear. What exactly is in the dark behind the woman? This kind of tension build up makes for a very interesting image because it gets the viewer thinking.

  5. These are beautiful. I’m a fan of dark photos with focused or limited light sources, and you’ve executed that incredibly successfully here.
    I can easily see the relation between these two photos—are they part of a larger series? I can’t help but wonder if this is a commentary on gender stereotyping/expectations, after all those emergency buttons were probably designed with women, not men, in mind. But who’s to say that men wouldn’t ever be in danger and need of help. But this may be me just stretching for something way deeper.
    Neither of these photos would be particularly great or attractive in the daylight, but your choice to shoot them in the dark with minimal use of light make them striking.

  6. The subtle lighting in these two photographs attracted me. The one with the female looks realistic except a bit too much of her body is visible for that amount of light from her phone. But, depending on a realistic look or not, I think it works nicely for the photograph. The emergency station picture is an object I have seen many times, but never once thought of as photo-potential. You nailed it!

  7. It’s interesting to compare looking at these photos as a set versus individually. At first, when just analyzing the top image, I felt a feeling of an innocent summer evening. However, after looking at the second image as well, I began to wonder if the female in the top photo is in fact calling for help in the face of an emergency? It adds a heightened sense of eeriness to both images when looking at the vast dark space surrounding the female subject and the emergency post together.

  8. Who knew a photo with little lighting could make the figures and subjects stand out so much. Both the girl and the emergency booth are visible enough to make out. Although the backgrounds aren’t very clear, I don’t have that much of a problem with them since they were taken at night.

  9. I like the nature of the lights in both pictures. The artist captured the figures and objects well without much blur or grain. The designed lighting makes the subjects stands out and lead the visual focus. However, I wish more contexts could be shown in the pictures.

  10. I like these pictures because they celebrate the particular hues and shades that exist only at night. The orangish tint that street lights elicit, the warmer yellows of house lights, the electric blue of cellular phones, and of course the beautiful deep black that makes it all possible.

  11. The enjoy the feeling of a quiet and still night that these photos evoke in me, really nice moments. I think the way you captured the lights makes these photos worth viewing because there is so much darkness that it seems like there are no stars or moonlight which might have been the case. There is a certain loneliness in the pure dark night but the light provides a sense of comfort especially when you are alone, that’s the narrative I have in mind for them. Good work.

  12. These photos bring up a good point. With almost all of the college population having a phone in their back pocket, are they even necessary anymore? Granted not EVERY student has a phone, but I’m sure the emergency is not used nearly as much as it used to. It brings up the fact that the cell phone has made a lot of what we used to use (CD player, television, radio) almost obsolete since we can control every one of those component with a swipe of the finger.

    Great highlights on the face, I personally would have maybe had the model in a position where I couldn’t see the lit housing/building in the background. It distracts me from the light of the phone.

Leave a Reply

