photography, Rollins College

​Betsy Johnson

IMG_3150 copy_FLAT

IMG_3150_EDIT copy_FLAT

​Betsy Johnson
ART 300 Digital Photography
archival pigment prints; 10″ x 7.5″

This work is part of a series I’m developing that deals with structures of power that are enforced, constructed, and disassembled through how we use language. I am attempting to communicate language’s role in the distribution of agency and the hidden cycles of violence it can perpetuate. This work is coming from the feminist perspective, and the content centers on gender roles and performance.

12 thoughts on “​Betsy Johnson”

  1. The pictures caught my attention at first since I thought you did interesting experiment with the photos. After looking through your concept, I think you can explore more about the artistic nature of your work or use even stronger visual indicators in the pictures. For the editing, I also suggest you to think about the cutting lines’ directions and compositions, and their visual power to create cohesiveness in the concept.

  2. I’m gonna be honest I’m not sure how the images relate to your concept. Looking at the images and reading the statement there appears to be disconnect.

    There are ways to force the idea of language and its power but I don’t think that an image of legs is the route to take. I am also not sure that language or violence is communicated by obscuring portions of the leg.

    The other thing That I believe could help would be to take a separate photo that has no figure in it to use for the clone stamping.

  3. The fact that parts of the figure are missing (covered in sand or just gone) seems to speak to the concept of being seen and valued but I can’t figure out where language plays a role in these photos. Maybe seeing more of your series would help. I would love to learn more about your concept.

  4. I understand the concept you are going for and I believe you are approaching it well, but I can’t help but feel that the doctored composition, the top one, could use a bit more work. It feels a little rough and quickly done. If you put a little more time into it I think it would benefit greatly.

  5. There is a disconnect between what we see and your concept (not sure where feminism plays a role in this…) but I think the way you fragmented the subject is interesting. Much like the other comments I believe you could have spent more time during the editing process because I can clearly see what sections of the photo you used to doctor the missing sections of the subject. Attention to detail is important in such a simple image.

  6. I love how uncomfortable these pictures make me – I think the startling bluntness really works for you. The quality of the first image is a bit distracting from your message. The photoshopping of the knees could be more successful if you also photographed the wall without the girl in front of it first, that way you could use that to fill in the space, rather than from another part of the image (it’s somewhat distracting to see the repeated wood grain and mismatched shadows).

  7. I like your intent and the bottom photograph. However, in the top photograph I am a little confused about your editing choice to take out the feet all together and to leave such an empty space where the bruises were. Perhaps you could find a way to make her legs look hollow? Because if the bruised parts were taken out, although your perspective is pretty straight forward, I think we would still be able to see inside the leg. Otherwise, nice composition, color, and framing!

  8. I think you are going in the right direction with this series, though I am a little confused about a few of your editing choices in the first photo. I understand erasing the area with the bruises, and think it works quite well, though I am unsure about erasing the feet altogether. I can only guess it has to do with losing your footing in a violent situation, but be careful not to deal with too many concepts in one photo, especially in the same way (deleting that area of the body).

  9. I like the way to use Photoshop. The legs look real and the composition is perfect to understand. I also like the tones of picture. It is warm enough.

  10. I like both the images and the concept but agree with others that there is a slight disconnect with the language idea? If it is the language of domestic abuse or something along those lines I would just reword some things in the statement and it would be very interesting to see the rest of the series since I like the idea and the concept.

  11. I’m not sure what the representation the first image has and why the second photo is needed. Do the two have a reason to be next to each other? Are those bruises on the back of the legs?

Leave a Reply

