12 thoughts on “Brittany Grady

  1. I can’t help but wonder what the background story is behind these images. Is it the same girl? For some reason, I get a sense of secret domestic violence because of the motion of her face and the fact that she is alone in her home. It’s interesting how one image shows her head from the front while the other shows the back of her head. Because of that, I actually can’t decide which is more eerie. I love the hints at a more old fashioned home that exist in the tea tin and the pan on the wall. Almost timeless.

  2. These portraits are very interesting and leave the viewer wanting more information on this woman. You did a good job in capturing the motion of the head while keeping the rest of the space intact, especially the shoulders and rest of the body. As for the images themselves, I would say the contrast is just a little too high, in that the shadowy areas are a bit too black and we lose information, just as the window in the second photo is too white and bright for the rest of the image. Nice concept.

  3. I enjoy high contrast in these two images. I find the blurred figure interesting around the otherwise crisp composition. I want to know more about this woman. Good composition inviting the view into to the photograph.

  4. These two photographs are very nicely captured. I love the high contrast in both portraits, as well. I like how the photographs send eery and mysterious vibes to the viewer. I do wonder, though, what the meaning behind these photographs are. There doesn’t seem to be an artist statement and I would love to know why you chose to blur the woman’s faces in both photographs and why you decided to have such high levels of contrast. I am also curious to know why you chose to keep the word “tea” visible in the second photograph– is there another meaning behind that choice, as well? Overall, I love the contrast and the photographs in general (so much so that I would love to know even more about the pictures!)

  5. As with everyone else, the first thing that caught my eye was the blurred out face of the woman in both photos. It’s interesting how everything else is in focus besides that one element. It gave me the feeling of lost identity, but didn’t really strike me as hinting to anything violent as others have suggested. I think the choice of high contrast was necessary if you were going for a look that was meant to hide the woman’s face. With the washed out window, more of her features that may have been noticeable through the motion blur were kept out and the same goes for the other photo where her face is in shadow.

  6. I agree with previous commenters that the blur of the woman’s face adds a sort of ghostly quality to the composition. The high contrast was a nice choice, particularly in the second photo as it adds emphasis to the figure and the blur. I would argue that this level of contrast is necessary to the focal points of these images.

  7. I, like the others who posted before me, really enjoy the blurred face and the mystery it evokes. On the flip side, I really like how static the woman’s body looks in the bottom photograph. It adds an extra jarring quality and a sense of eery calm. I also like that she is just wearing everyday clothes and doing everyday things. I think the high contrast works perfectly here.

  8. I really love the mystery behind each of these photos. Why is the girl moving her head so much? Did she do it on purpose for the picture, or did she accidentally move it when she turned to look and pose for the picture? There’s sort of an unease that comes upon me when looking at these pictures, and I find myself trying to focus the blur in my head to match her identity. Good job overall with the blurring, and giving off a mysterious vibe to the audience!

  9. I like the crispness compared to the blurred part. I also like the patterns on the wallpaper and how it adds to the images. The inability to see her face makes you want to see more and the black and white quality really adds depth.

  10. The directional light in these images is wonderful. If you’re interested in long exposures like this you might enjoy playing with flash shutter curtains, where the camera flash goes off at the beginning or end of your exposure. Lens stabilizers can also give you really interesting effects in long exposures if parts of the image remain still enough for the IS to lock in.

  11. These are heading in a really interesting direction. I think you need to develop a concept for it and let the images become more communicative.

Leave a Reply

