Suzanne Peterson

construction

edgeofglory

Suzanne Peterson
ART 376: Photography I
Sliver Prints; 8″ x 10″

These are two photos that focus on the city of Madison from unique vantage points. The first is a snapshot of the construction going on but from above instead of the usual way I see it as a pedestrian. The second is a eagle eye view of a busy intersection from the top story of a high rise apartment. I wanted the views of Madison that I capture to differ from the usual view of how I see Madison on a daily basis.

4 thoughts on “Suzanne Peterson

  1. I’m very intrigued by these images, especially because I’m also from Madison. I’m most interested in the second photo because of the natural geometry/pattern that exists, including the two triangles that seem vertically symmetrical in the piece. I’m assuming that this is a view from the Embassy and I’m very tempted to try to view this scene on my own, but this time without the snow. I really enjoy how you chose to represent it in black and white which really highlights the shapes and line work.

  2. These are beautiful shots. I think the repetition of the shapes that occurs in both photos is what makes them so enjoyable. These are both from high vantage points and if the series were to continue it would be interesting to see how many different points of view could be incorporated.

  3. The top image of the construction may be better viewed in person rather than through a medium such as the computer screen, where the light of the screen may be interfering with a photograph with such high contest. The details are lost, and I am not sure if thats the composition of the photo itself or my computer over illuminating the image and
    The bottom image is excellent. I love that it reflects the paths most traveled, as illustrated by the paths that can be found worn into the snow. The balance is also pleasing, with darks and lights scattered throughout the photograph. The geometric shapes throughout the image are pleasing as well, with the triangles, diamonds and other shapes you would expect in a cityscape but not to be so clearly visible. It was a good choice to make these black and white as well, as it allows the viewer (including myself) to focus more on the composition and line rather than be distracted by color which may not contribute to the message you are trying to convey.

  4. The first image is interesting, but the crane gets lost in the sky, it could just be because of the weather that day but I think it is a little over exposed there. I really like the triangular composition in the 2nd image. It is unusual, adds interest. I also like the details of winter, like the salt stained roads.

Leave a Reply

