8 thoughts on “Ien Halsted”

  1. These two black and white photos are very nostalgic. I like how you include the grain and chalk mark on the wall in the top photo. For the second one, the out of focus makes the aisle look more slender. And the reflection of the light on both mirror and ground are very beautiful! On the top right corner, the cut of a painting adds more artistic vibe.

  2. I like the composition of your first photograph. There is a triangle that has point at the clock, fire alarm and the spout of the water fountain. It leads the viewers eye through the image.

  3. I just recognized it is a humanities building. It looks a great composition and I like the behind scene. I like the focusing out.

  4. It reminds me of the many hours art students spend in this maze of a building. It’s hard to place where the water fountain is located and which floor/side the hallway is on since it’s room after room, locker after locker of what seems to be the same thing as you walk by. Constantly being in the graphic design room, I recognize the in-focus student’s poster on the wall. Interesting use of focus and depth of field to portray this.

  5. I see Humanities everyday and every hallway looks the same to me. It’s interesting to see the different perspectives in which the interior of the building can be seen. I never noticed the fire alarm was right next to the water fountain. For some reason, these photos make it look creepy yet almost inviting.

  6. With these images (as well as the rest of the series) I feel like the semi-composed/semi-candid looking compositions really bring me into humanities when looking at these images. I don’t think of it as just an image, it’s documenting a place that a lot of us call our home.
    Documenting this building in particular in black and white knowing that it will soon be torn down furthers the emotional connection that I have with these images. Black and white film in itself is preeminent of times past, and soon these images will be reminding viewers of what once was.
    You documented different parts of the building and different objects & works within the building describing them as their own characters. And I believe that is the best explanation for the art floors of Humanities. There are so many seemingly insignificant parts of the building that become their own characters playing a part in our experience there. We interact and develop attachments whether we mean to or not.

  7. I love the angle you chose for your second image. Sometimes when I’ve been in humanities working for too long, I’ll walk out into that hall and almost be blinded by the lights. The tilted, blurry effects help illustrate that feeling for me accurately.

Leave a Reply

