James A. Hemphill

James A. Hemphill - Sarah Hippie-Goth

James A. Hemphill - Terry_Model-European Influence

James A. Hemphill
ART 3233: Studio Lighting
Digital Image
Series of 10

This work is about alter egos. I feel that we all wear a mask of personality when we go out in public. Big or small, they’re often created out of defense, shyness, or just to fit in. The first photo represents their everyday public personality, and and the second represents their alter ego.

A lot of the shots I used were off guard. I talked to each person about their personalities with my finger on the trigger, pressing it at sort of random when I felt they had let their guard down.

9 thoughts on “James A. Hemphill

  1. I like that each story of the person has two sides/ one showing what they portray for the world and one for what they feel they are hiding from the world. I cannot completely identify what the alter egos are- maybe that is not a bad thing. I can certainly see a difference… I really enjoy that the alter ego is set to a black, dark background and the original image is set to a completely blank, white background.

  2. I absolutely love this idea and the way your idea came to life. I think one of my favorite parts of the composition as a whole is the way you chose you contrast the black and white backgrounds between alter egos. I would not have thought of that and think that the contrast of colors in the background really adds to your overall idea of alter egos. Further, I love the simplicity in the first identity on the left side. The portrait of the woman on the top looks especially candid and well-done.

  3. I like this, but the concept seems a bit trite. To do something like this I think you have to reinvent the wheel–do something to make it different than the alter ego representations we’ve seen before. I think it could have been cool to have the person and their alter ego on the same plane, interacting with each other, and using that to show how their alter ego differs from their normal personality (just one idea) In terms of picture quality, I think you did a great job!

  4. I’m intrigued by the contrast between the two photos in one set. At first, I didn’t quite realize that it was the same person. In the first set, the girl looks so happy and carefree (nice capture, by the way) and in the second she’s more sultry and serious. The choice of light seems to match this emotion and enhance it as well.

  5. Very clean images, James. It’s a great use of lighting for a natural look in both their natural habitats. It’s white light, reminding me of their pureness and their personality non-contaminated. The lighting from below for the girl brings out a mystery that fades into the blackness behind her hair and hands. I like the similar idea of the guy looking up inquisitively, but the white shirt and bright highlights lose the sense of warmth that the skin tone and pants brings in.

    It’s very smart of you to keep the subject relaxed and comfortable, especially if they haven’t been in front of a camera a lot. Keep searching for new ideas and pushing yourself!

  6. Very clean images, James. It’s a great use of lighting for a natural look in both their natural habitats. It’s white light, reminding me of their pureness and their personality non-contaminated. The lighting from below for the girl brings out a mystery that fades into the blackness behind her hair and hands. I like the similar idea of the guy looking up inquisitively, but the white shirt and bright highlights lose the sense of warmth that the skin tone and pants brings in.

    It’s very smart of you to keep the subject relaxed and comfortable, especially if they haven’t been in front of a camera a lot. Keep searching for new ideas and pushing yourself!

  7. I did not realize these were the same two models until I read the description, at which time I realized how excellent you nailed the idea of alter egos people have. These are great images.
    The high contrast of the photos with the black backgrounds contrast well with the softer contrast of those with the white backgrounds, and together they create a very visually engaging piece that warrants a second look. My eyes do not grow tired of looking at these images.
    It is very interesting of how the alter ego seems opposite of the main ego, where there is this sense of softness in one and hardness in another. It would be interesting to see these ideas explored more, and to see if everyones alter egos seem to reflect a sense of opposing rather than complimentary sense.

  8. These are nice images, in that they are clear and sharp. However, I would be careful with the rendering of the body in the girl’s alter-ego photo. The pose doesn’t seem natural, and it makes her proportions look a little off. I would just be careful on how you stand as the photographer and how you capture parts of the human body. With the man’s alter ego, it’s hard to tell what the alter ego even is. It just looks like he put his hair down and changed outfits, where as the girl’s picture, she has a prop, and it is very apparent what her alter ego is. Regardless of what I just said, good use of lighting and creative concept.

  9. The contrast and concept is great, I wish I could see more of the series. I wish the girls alter ego was in a different position that maybe gave off a more “rebellious” attitude. Is the guy just symbolizing a more romantic or vulnerable state? the way he is looking up is very interesting.

Leave a Reply

