Lucy Hodkiewicz

Caleb

me

Lucy Hodkiewicz
Art 376: Photography
Silver Prints; 8″ x 10″
20 images total in series

These are two images from a group of back photos that I took for my final series. I have an interest in capturing a person in a portrait-style set up, but without photographing their face. I think capturing their back, which may reveal broad shoulders, speckled skin, tight muscles, or protruding ribs and spines is much more personal and interesting. The back is really underrated and my series attempts to shift portraiture from faces to other revealing/characteristic parts of the body.

12 thoughts on “Lucy Hodkiewicz

  1. I completely agree with you that the back is underrated, and I think you did a great job giving these backs characteristics and really making this part of the body look so beautiful. My favorite one is the top photograph because of how all the shadows help accentuate the muscles and make the back pop out that much more to the eye. The contrast is really impressive in the top photograph as well, and it really caught my eye when scrolling down the exchange. The bottom photograph creates a mysterious vibe for the viewer and makes us question why the model is there, or what she’s crouching down for? Good job overall Lucy! 🙂

  2. Gorgeous shots. I love the background of the bottom image, but I feel like if this series is focusing on the back, and the subtle nuances of the back, there should be no distraction from the background. The bottom image is competing between the beauty of the background with the fog and then the subject of the back. I like how the top image has a black background, so the back is highlighted and the complete center of attention

  3. Usually, in order to get an sort of emotion in a photograph it is necessary to see the face of someone in the photo. The second photo evokes more emotion than some can capture with their subject looking right at them. This series is an intriguing one and I’m interested to see how else you were able to capture a feeling/emotion without using the subjects face.

  4. I find your second photograph to be very successful in terms of its composition. Even with the figure centered the composition feels dynamic. I think this is likely due to the framing of the figure by the trees that directs the viewer’s focus. This combined with how the photo is lighter towards its edges than in its center adds a nice focal point.

  5. I really like the black and white scene. It looks perfect to show the body shape. The composition also works. Even though it is black and white, it shows enough quality.

  6. While these two images are definitely related, I see them as moving in two very different directions :

    The first image reminds me of early 20th century photographs that consciously fetishized parts of the body through cropping and abstract framing. This photograph does a great job of highlighting the spine and the details of this part of the body. Chiaroscuro is always wonderful.

    The second image feels more narrative, and I find that the setting competes with the subject in a way that might detract from your stated intentions. But if the back is just a starting point, this is a beautiful image and adds another layer to the project.

  7. These are amazing representations of on capturing an individual without showing their faces. I feel that the top image is more staged and focuses more on the subject matter of the back while the bottom image holds more interest. The setting of the forest with the person faced away has an appeal that speaks more to me. There seems to be a story there that is shared with the photographer and the subject. Overall, both images are well composed and work well individually rather than together.

  8. Formally, the compositions are symmetrical, but a look into each subject pulls a different story. The stretching/flexing man has a unique portrait story of his body and self-image as a body builder. The other is a portrait with an environment, giving a mood and eeryness that comes with the fog and the woods.

    I like the idea behind the images and it would be a great thing to see you continue the series. As for presentation, I would like to see you upload the scanned images onto photoshop and crop only the image or what you want the viewer to see. Leaving the edges like that is a choice, so think about how you want to present your work to others and how others see your work.

  9. I really enjoy the uniqueness of the second image, it is very clean in terms of composition and quality. I feel like I am stepping into a scene from a movie, and it takes a little more than a photograph to do that for me. It also feels very calming in the same sense of being confused with what I am trying to feel about the image.

  10. I would love to see more of a narrative develop in these images, they’re very striking and technically well done.With the first image, you may have the images relate a little more if you allowed detail in the shadows, less striking contrast. I want to be able to follow the form more smoothly. Maybe you can work on showing the connection for why a male is boldly represented in neutral setting while the female seems more exposed and vulnerable in the contextual setting.

  11. I said it when seeing these in critique and I will say it again, I love these photos and I loved the whole series.
    With these images in particular you do a wonderful job of making this backs evoke emotion, there is no need for a face to tell us what to feel or think.
    The second image was one of my top favorites from the series and it’s probably because of how it becomes part of the space instead of completely being the space and STILL being the main focus and making me feel something. I wouldn’t be feeling vulnerability if it weren’t for that protruding spine on the back mocking the line of the trees and reminding me of how fragile the human body can be.
    You’ve taken one of the strongest body parts and made it appear as fragile as glass.

  12. These images are fantastic. The dramatic light, the curious subject of the back, the high contrast between light and dark; all of it works together well and compliments one another harmoniously. Indeed faceless subjects are far more captivating then the usual portrait.

Leave a Reply

