Tyler Madey

madey_art376_print1

madey_art376_print2

Tyler Madey
Art 376: Black & White Photography
Silver Print – Fiber Based; 8″ x 10″

The image with the skateboarder was taken using my Nikon FE2 and Nikon 50mm f/1.8 series E lens and using Kodak 400 Tri-X film. The image was a part of a series focusing on varying perspective angles (this one being from up high).

The image of the girl in the forest was taken with my Voigtlander Bessa R2A rangefinder and the Voigtlander Nokton 35mm f/1.4 Classic SC lens and using Fujifilm Neopan 400 film. The image was a part of a series focusing on space, and this image deals with mental space.

9 thoughts on “Tyler Madey

  1. The high perspective shows a unique point of view at this subject, because we would normally be viewing the skateboarder at ground, or eye-level. I think his action of stopping/slowing down really makes it more active of an image.

    I think the image of the girl and her space is an untouchable one, one where she does not want to invite us in, since her back has so much negative space within the image. It’s an interesting narrative of a girl on a park table, surrounded by trees.

  2. I feel like for both of these images there is a lot going on to keep the interest of the eye and to get us looking around the space and noticing the space.
    However I feel like the flatness of your tonal range is really dragging down the potential of these images. Both images are very grayed out and there is little contrast between the subjects and the space. Trying a different/higher filter would most likely help.

  3. I like how the skateboard image conveys motion while everything is in focus. The shadows are very interesting.
    The image of the woman is nice, however she blends into the trees. I think she gets lost. But that could be part of the concept.
    Both images are lacking a bright white.

  4. Tyler I am a lover of black and white photos, you have a great eye when it comes to capturing a beautiful moment in black and white these two images show that. I get a feel of existence when I look at your photos, like Im looking into the past.

  5. I dig these images. The composition is pleasing, the subjects are interactive. The exposure is a little dark, especially on the bottom image, but overall, successful explorations.

  6. Im really diggin the picture with the guy on the skateboard, he looks so funny the way he is riding. I like the candidness of both the images. The bottom one isn’t as strong as the top- she seems to bland in with the background and not really stand out as the subject.

  7. What I like about these images was that it feels as if you captured people in every day normal events for them; like you were just taking a walk and by chance noticed these lovely scenes so you stopped to photograph them. These pieces of work are like people watching gone incredibly well.

  8. The second image would have to be my favorite because, it looks vintage to me. Gives me an old time film feel for it. The top image I do feel overall has a nice even grayscale to it, which is good techniqual wise.

Leave a Reply

