11 thoughts on “Crystal Boff

  1. I am very intrigued by this process and how these images were printed. The subjects are very interesting and the figure is present but at the same moment not there, they are very mysterious and intriguing to the viewer. I like the tone of the actual prints which helps the tone of the image and subject be of an unknown time period and place, mysterious, a little dark, and sad. I enjoyed them for those reasons.

    1. The images were shot on 4×5 lith film and printed on expired and fogged RC paper that had been fixed in very, very diluted fixer which toned down the purple-y color the paper had to sort of an orange-y cast which is most of what gave the color to the image. The paper was then dried and coated with Van Dyke chemistry and printed under UV lights. I hope that helps clear up the process a little bit.

  2. Amazing images, and love that you are experimenting with alternative processes. The tone of the image is great, and I really enjoy the way you composed your images. I am very interested in the concept of both photographs and seeing more work from this series.

    1. Thanks! Alternative processes are my passion of sorts. I love the experimenting and the playing the unpredictability of the processes! The concept for the set came from playing the concept of childhood fears so ghost and scary shadows and monsters under the bed and things of that sort

    1. The images were shot on 4×5 sheets of lith film and printed on expired and fogged RC paper that had been fixed in very, very diluted fixer which toned down the purple-y color the paper had turned from being exposed to light for a period of time to sort of an orange-y cast which is most of what gave the color to the image. The paper was then dried and coated with Van Dyke using a soft bristle paint bush and printed under UV lights. The imgages themselves are part of a set shot exploring childhood fears such as scary shadows and ghosts and monsters under the bed.

  3. These photos have a very mysterious and creepy vibe about them. I’m also very interested in your processes in making these photographs, andy how you composed them the way you did. These definitely look like stills that came from a scary movie or something, and that interests me, however I can’t get much out of them without any context attached.

  4. i really enjoy the feeling of these images. my only problem is that the bottom image would not be as successful without the context of the top image. i enjoy the top image on its own, and with the bottom image.

  5. I think you should include information about your concept and process. That being said, I think these photos work very well together. The composition is also very strong. I want to see more so I can piece together a narrative.

  6. The grittiness and tonality of these prints are very intriguing. I do not know much about this style of printing, but I really enjoy that your subjects really play in to the particular aesthetic of the printing process shown in these. I especially enjoy your use of shadows as it adds a lot of texture to these images.

  7. I think alternative processes are an interesting way to explore photography, and these two photographs are no exception. The yellow tint to the photos combined with the haziness shown (I assume as a result of the process) really give the two pictures a somewhat eerie feel to them.

Leave a Reply

