photography, Western Michigan University

Gwen Taylor

gwen1

gwen2

gwen3

Gwen Taylor
ART 5480: Photography Workshop
Digital Prints; 23″ x 16″
16 in the series Re:Construct

Memory is one of the most essential bodily functions. Individuals who lose the ability to recall history, culture, personal life experiences or even how to function in society on a daily basis suffer with personal identity challenges. Memories fade and become difficult to access overtime; they are altered with each recollection or are forgotten completely.

Inspired by my desire to hold onto my past with my father whom I can no longer create new memories with, I experimented with in camera techniques to illustrate the confusion, disorientation, alterations, fading and lack of information that come along with the process of recalling. My subject matter comes from locations or objects in which I explored in some matter with my father. I faintly overlaid images from past experiences to illustrate how it once was compared to how little and strenuous it has become to recall these experiences when revisiting the same situation.

9 thoughts on “Gwen Taylor”

  1. I really enjoy your take on memory. I totally get a feeling of warped nostalgia from your images. I think the subject matter behind the editing also aids in strengthening your concept. Good work!

  2. I really love this concept of capturing memory, and how hard it is to recall past experiences and memories with loved ones who have passed long ago. I can really connect with this, since I find it hard to collect my own memories with my father from the past. I think you did a really good job in these images capturing the blurred feeling/ the faded feeling you get when trying to recall past memories. The blurs in each picture are just settle enough, and aren’t distracting at all, great job making it personal too!

  3. Interesting concept and process. I think each image is successful but the second with family snapshot overlayed onto a restaurant table brings the idea of memories, especially a past one, remembered. I would be interested in seeing the different ways that you could blur and alter the overlay to connect with the memory.

  4. Your idea to capture fading memories is so successful here. Each picture has it done differently, but the faded human forms is incredibly powerful overlaid on top of backgrounds along with the whispy effect. Wonderful

  5. You capture the feeling of memory very successfully. The images laid over each other are very faint and you have to look at them for extended periods of time to try and figure out exactly what they are sometimes. This is kind of like trying to recall a memory. You replay parts over and over in your head while trying to answer a question or recall something new; maybe sometimes you make up your own parts of your memories to satisfy yourself.

  6. I really like the way you portrayed memory in multiple images of blurriness. It’s definitely malleable and is always changing. The blur makes it vibrate and a lot more interesting!

  7. The double exposure effect is extremely effective in depicting memories. You never really remember as they are, but as a sort of distortion of what you thought they were. I think these photos do an excellent job of trying to get that feeling across.

  8. The way that you have created this dream like effect to the people in the photos definitely makes me think of a memory. Something that was present at once but has faded or no longer there. It’s something that I think we can all relate to personally and you have successfully shown us your story here.

Leave a Reply

