photography, Western Michigan University

Elizabeth Brosofske

_MG_7790-copy

_MG_7825-copy

Elizabeth Brosofske
Art 3470 Digital Photography I
Digital Prints; 8″ x 10″
(In a series of 20, although I am not sure what I am calling it yet…)

In my photographs, I am inspired by the novel “The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon” by Stephen King. I strive to capture the hope and fear that one encounters when they are lost. In the book, the main character is literally lost in the woods, but she is also lost emotionally. Dealing with family matters and other factors has her second guessing what she has always known to do. I am currently working on images to capture the contrast of fear and hope in these “lost” situations.

5 thoughts on “Elizabeth Brosofske”

  1. Your photos are done very nicely, especially the way you have focused on the tree bark and the berry. I get the feeling of awaking from a dream and these things are the first to come into focus in my blurry eyes, and almost feel like I am lost somewhere that I have never been.

  2. The long depth of field creates a sense of lost and fear. I like the second image a lot which the red color adds more contrast between fear and hope.

  3. While I feel like these close up stills are very intimate and emotional, it doesn’t give me a sense of being lost necessarily or overwhelmed which is what I would imagine a person who is basically questioning everything in her life would feel.

    I feel like pairing these close ups with short and long DOF of larger areas of woods would help better to convey the emotions you are seeking to put across.

    Showing the vastness of the space will allow us to see something that is bigger than ourselves (and thus your character) and something that is able to surround/overwhelm/overtake a human being.

    But the stills DO let us see through the eyes of the character. How things can get blurry and confusing. How it’s hard to focus on everything at once or not to get overwhelmed by only a small part of a whole event/situation.

  4. I really enjoy how you used the rule of thirds technique, as well as using selective focus on the first image. I would like to see more unique methods for photographing the woods as well.

  5. By utilizing the short depth of field, you’ve allowed the viewer a very distorted sense of direction and/or orientation. I can’t tell which direction the photo was taken from (above, below, etc) and that obviously captures the feeling of being lost.

    But the small blip of red in the second photo, the little bit of saturation in the heavily desaturated photo, captures the feeling of hope I think you were going for.

Leave a Reply

