8 thoughts on “Natalie McGinnis

  1. Natalie, the top image and the third image are very captivating composition-wise to me. I wish I understood the context of what this book is about, something that the last image is pulling me to. I like the overall capturing of single isolated subjects.Well done!

  2. I agree with the first person, I do need more information on the context of the book. I think your first three images are the strongest. They convey very intense situations with minimal imagery. Using a gun provides too much information and it would be great if you could find a way to match the first three in terms of simplicity.

  3. People, you are connected to the internet. You want to know what the book is about or Sylvia Plath is google it. !!!

    Plath was intense and these images are about that and the various ways that one might try to end their own life. These images are also about the moments of contemplation and indecision. That is what I understand from what I see.

  4. This is very interesting. I’m definitely pulling a couple of different narratives from this however, that I’m not clear on which one you are going for. I think there’s definitely a conversation about mental health here, but there are also potential conversations of love(wedding ring?) abuse,(gun, locked door), and a myriad of other things. I would love to see this continued and get more of an idea about the conversation happening!

  5. The meaning behind these images are very deep. I would really enjoy seeing this series continued. I think basing this series on Sylvia Plath makes this series very intense.

  6. I really like the first and the third images in terms of composition and technique/quality. The last image is very interesting and triggering — if it was not with the other images in a set, it would have had so many different meanings and would have been mysterious.

  7. Ive never read the book but your images a very strong and give me the sense that there has been an assault of some sort to the woman and in the last image she holds the gun to show she has overcome and is empowered! The third image is my favorite with the way you composed the shot to have the natural light from the window fall on the woman.

Leave a Reply

