photography, Western Michigan University

Elizabeth Paige Brosofske

eb1

eb2

eb3

Elizabeth Paige Brosofske
ART 3470 Digital Photography 1
Digital Prints; 8″ x 10″
20 images total

In my photographs, I am inspired by the novel “The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon” by Stephen King. I strive to capture the hope and fear that one encounters when they are lost. In the book, the main character is literally lost in the woods, but she is also lost emotionally. Dealing with family matters and other factors has her second guessing what she has always known to do. I am currently working on images to capture the contrast of fear and hope in these “lost” situations.

As I have worked on this series, I have decided to go along a different route. I was inspired by the lack of sound, or presence of sound that the character in my book experiences while alone, and lost in the woods. As you look at the images, my hope is that the image looks as though there is visual sound.

8 thoughts on “Elizabeth Paige Brosofske”

  1. I really like your aesthetic and how you are trying to capture the visual sound – definitely successful in all three of these images. The top image, although it is black and white and seems to recede color-wise more than the other two, is very captivating to me. I love how it physically creates the feeling of being “lost.” Your second image, I am not quite sure what the subject matter is – I don’t know if that is what you are going for or not. Overall, well done!

  2. This is kind of odd but I think the visual “noise” in your photographs actually adds to your idea of sound. I think the images appear as stills from a grainy movie. I can imagine a place and what might be going on in each scenario. each image has beautiful colors also. I think color along with the space can impact the visual sound a lot and enjoy your concept.

  3. The second two images do a better job of trying to depict sound than the first one does (though the first one does a great job of conveying the feeling of being lost). I think it has to do with the color. The saturation on the bottom two is beautiful and really helps to create that vibrating feeling.

  4. You have interesting subject matter and the noise in your work reflects the presence of sound. I really like how the colors in the second and third images are unnatural, but I think the first image would be the strongest. I think exploring photography like the first image would be a good way to go.

  5. I enjoy your play on color. While I’m sure the grain is from having low lighting, it’s a bit distracting and I wonder how different these images would feel if they were crisper.

  6. The color in these photographs are really saturated and nice. I really like the second one, which is more like a abstract painting.

  7. I love this series of photos you have here. They play off of each other really well in their abstraction and color. Because of this symbiosis, they are helping tell a story. Well done!

Leave a Reply

