6 thoughts on “Hiroki Maruoka”

  1. I feel like the images look good but I feel like the words take away from the images. It feel unnatural and and doesn’t do more than over explain the picture. I think if you still wanted to use words in your picture find words that are organically place in the locations that you can manipulate like a sign etc.

  2. I would disagree with the idea of using organic placed words, as the idea is to show different fonts and how they relate to the subject. Which I believe the artist did very well in the three examples shown, would be curious to see the others in the series. Water flows, trash is rough….

  3. I would have to agree that the words and fonts add to the subject and capture the artist’s goal. Just a small detail I think could have made the second image stronger is placing the font on a trash bin that was actually filled with trash. I know it’s minor but I think the shot and the angle are wonderful, I just think it would be better if there was actually trash in the image rather than just the bin for it.

  4. This is an interesting concept to work with and I would suggest reading up on research about the science behind words and visual representations. When I look at the image and read the words I usually read them in a certain way which is something odd about human nature. The context behind the words also adds to the images and I would love to see more from this series.

  5. Interesting study of semantics here! I wonder what would happen if instead of placing the words in white copy paper on the objects you looked into photoshopping some of these in there so that it looks more natural?

Leave a Reply

