12 thoughts on “Sara Beard”

  1. Looking at the first and second images. I wouldn’t have guessed these are little houses! the lighting in the first one is really good. If the third image was flipped 180 degrees, it would have felt like that the viewer is actually in the image, looking up the ceiling. Overall, the lighting in the image has a nice contrast to the warm tones of the windows.

  2. the lighting in each of the photos give a very eerie vibe that assist in the creepiness presented by the shade of the cardboard however, I salute your ability to create new images/houses from such delicate material. would be interested in seeing the actual scales entire house for comparison/reference

  3. From the photos, I would have never known that the images were tiny! The lightning looks so natural and is done very well. The shadows created really add to the image giving the different shades throughout the image. Very cool!

  4. I really enjoy the concept and it gives the photos a playful vibe from the hobby you had as a child. The use of the backlighting in the paper windows draws my attention and the details are very rich.

  5. Photographing staged houses is a really interesting practice. The lighting is subtle and soft which plays nicely with the delicate nature of the tiny houses. In your statement, you do not talk about the feelings that creating these tiny houses gave you, but by the way lighting, color and angle is treated in these images, I find that it must have been a somewhat unsettling one. The are a bit eerie as one commenter has already stated. Perhaps that’s the feeling you wanted your viewers to experience. If not, I would reconsider the way in which you are presenting these places.

  6. I feel very cramped when i look at these! You did a very good job making these feel like small spaces; the corners, the angles, and the lighting all contribute to this.

  7. It really suprises me to know that these spaces are created out of cardboard and paper. They look like real rooms. For me they evoke a felling of loneliness yet comfort due to the lighting. The emptiness of the spaces makes me focus on the lighting and the all the varying shadows and deeper colors.

  8. These images are extremely interesting in that they offer a unique perspective into your memories as well as create a fictional world. Your lighting works well with your images and I like the different angles that you give use, creating a sort of abstraction to the fact that this is a small house. My suggestion would to continue playing around with this idea and start adding color or different angles of light to see what comes through the little houses. Overall, great images and I definitely see a strong series in the works.

  9. The concept here is really interesting because it recreates a snapshot of life from a long time ago. The lighting is amazing in these makeshift houses, and the ideas of windows and walls is really creative. I can suggest making the houses more home-y and I only say that because I get a sense of emptiness and loneliness with these pictures when I’m sure you didnt mean that.

  10. This concept is incredible. I didn’t even realize these were tiny rooms at first. I love how you used different papers to create different textures and lighting.

  11. This causes a weird juxtaposition of sensations. When I looked at the windows I felt that they weren’t real windows, but the lighting caused me to feel differently. But then I read your description, and was very surprised. Really interesting work!

  12. I really like the lighting in all of these images. You did a really good job with the lighting and composition. You took each picture at a different angle and all of the images go really well together. It reminds me of the inside of a scary house.

Leave a Reply

