14 thoughts on “Victoria Wong

  1. I find all of these images to be very strong, both conceptually and compositionally. I am able to grasp a strong sense of emotion and tension. Great work!

    Futher, the image of the eyes (I assume this was accomplished through selective development) is especially intriguing to me. I would love to see more images with this process as it is spot on. Lastly, the final image is so captivating. It evokes a feeling relaxation, which I believe this is due to the softness and symmetry.

  2. I love the third photoshopped image a lot. Assuming it was photoshopped, I really like the filter affect. The other images I love as well. To me they don’t have much correlation with one another but I love each image on its own.

    1. All of these images were developed in the darkroom! So I had no clue how they were going to exactly turnout. I appreciate the kind feedback!

  3. I really love the composition of each of these photos. The 5th photo is absolutely gorgeous. I love the overexposure of the sky that expands to soften the trees around it. I find the first photo really interesting. The shadow of the child is so clear, but the child itself is almost completely faded into the background in some parts. The way the light works in this photo create a very interesting effect.

  4. Very impressed with the framing of the subject you are using in a few of these shots, the 5th image especially. The light breaking between the trees draws your eye straight to the subject. I think the contrast is also helping this image out tremendously. The darks really separate themselves well from the lights, while still maintaining a solid level of highlight. Love it!

  5. These photographs are great and very creative! I like your composition and grouping of the photos together. I would like to see more photos with the technique you used in the third image.

  6. My favorite photo is the one with the eyes! We jut learned selective development in class and it is amazing to see it in use. Despite the fact that most of the picture is not developed, there is still a full tonal range seen. The painted look messes with your brain because the eyes look realistic but the painted look makes it look created. It is a beautiful abstract picture and takes something so simple and makes it complex. Such an inspiration!

  7. The piece done with selective development is stunning. Using that process to emphasize the subjects eyes was a great choice, it makes it feel more abstract and captivating. I also really like the symmetry in the last three shots. The image with the person opening the door is also very interesting. I like how there is a tension to it because it feels like that person is violently opening the doors and it makes you wonder why.

  8. I cannot get over the amount of tonal quality throughout each of these pictures. I really enjoyed the photo using selective development as the darker splotches frame the eyes in a way that seems extremely intentional and unique. The first photo captures a chaotic background while the subject seems worry free and that visual contrast really stood out to me.

  9. I love this set of images and how you captured or created motion. The second image is my favorite because of the blurred motion of the door and its tonal range. I would love to see more of your work with more candid photos!

  10. I love all the pictures, but the third picture is really eye catching! I love how you developed that picture. It almost looks like it was photoshopped. Even though there are lots of negative space in the picture, the picture does no look boring at all. I would love to see more pictures developed with that technique!

  11. I absolutely love your third image. Your photoshop technique is really on point and I find this photograph very unique. I like that you only chose to focus on the eyes and made a water droplet effect on top of the original photo as well to make it all flow. Without that I feel like it would look very stiff. I also think the lighting in the fifth image is really great and the person is walking away in towards the light.

  12. I love all of these pictures! They create a sort of story and you capture movement/motion very well. The third image is my favorite. It really pulls me in and the blurred motion and intense looking of the eyes really makes it something special. They tones in all of these pictures work really well and they all flow together.

Leave a Reply

