photography, St. Norbert College

Nicolette Sheffield

Nicolette Sheffield
ART 280 // Introduction to Photography & Digital Imaging
Digital Print; Bridge: 8×14″, Underpass: 8.5×12″
Image Series 2 and 3 of 3

Statement: The assignment was a series of landscape inspired photographs, so instead of sticking to one location I decided to take pictures along my bike ride. The collage-style of the collected images were inspired by the photographer David Hockney. My process involved taking pictures with my camera at different angles and focusing on specific areas of the landscape, then digitally ‘stitching’ the images together, resulting in what you are seeing.

13 thoughts on “Nicolette Sheffield”

  1. I really like the way the final product turned out from the images you stitched together. The jagged edges are visually stimulating and create a more interesting perspective of the objects you chose to photograph rather than a simple rectangular photograph.

  2. Really like how you changed the shape of these photos and made it into something other than the usual photo size. This gives me depth and more information surrounding the image.

  3. I’m really enjoying how these images work together to create a seamless composition. When no regard is given to the framing of the subject and you are instead creating the frame yourself, it really creates interesting focus points. I also enjoy how the shadows of certain objects will be different at different angles.

  4. I really like that it looks like you used different pictures to create one whole picture. I also love that they don’t look like usual pictures, it makes the whole thing a lot more interesting to look at, and shows a lot of creativity.

  5. I really like the way each image comes together to make a full composition. Pulling the images together like this makes this composition interesting to look at when the individual images would not be so interesting by themselves.

  6. I really appreciate these photos because I can envision walking on trails and roads under the bridge and witnessing graffiti being drawn and seeing all the different colors portrayed with different styles. The scenery makes the picture look like a lot goes on in that area. Also, I can imagine sitting on the dock and listening to the slight water sloshes against the pavement. The pictures are great, though I would’ve liked to see the full image.

  7. You did an amazing job playing with perspective, while still retaining a clear representation of what the composites are actually of. Awesome eye!

  8. I love how you were able to create such a clear image with the placement of the photos. The jagged, overlapping edges definitely makes the images more interesting, and the focus of the overall work is still clear.

  9. I’m really enjoying how these images work together to create a seamless composition. When no regard is given to the framing of the subject and you are instead creating the frame yourself, it really creates interesting focus points. I also enjoy how the shadows of certain objects will be different at different angles. This kind of composite photograph creates an abrasive atmosphere that compliments the nature of that bridge

  10. I really enjoy how you make it look like a collage. The overall shape of the entire piece is just as important as what you are photographing and I think you executed that really well.

  11. The individual images seem a little pixelated (maybe that is just for the purposes of this website). Other than that, I really like the rendering you have done; it is not in the traditional rectangle frame which makes it more dynamic. The two-dimensionality distorts the image and turns the image into something other than reality. I also like that the rendering is not perfect and that not every lines up or the colors do not match; these all add a layer of questions to the spaces and how they are constructed.

Leave a Reply

