15 thoughts on “James Viall III”

  1. I’m enjoying parts of this photo a lot but I’m also left with a few questions. I love the composition of the subject sitting in a small window pane looking out, as well as the values keeping most of the photo dark, but without losing important detail. I really would like to know the context of this photo, and why it was taken and what it means, only because I find this photo hard to work when it’s just by itself.

  2. I really like the contrast of the lights and darks with this photo. It even goes down to the clothing that’s being worn. It’s a beautiful silhouette with the soft light coming through and slightly around the subject. I almost want to see the face or have another photo of the face. I think a really interesting technique that you could use here would be the ghosting effect and having the head turned through the photo.

  3. Really effective use of composition, light and contrast to set a particularly reflective and withdrawn mood around the subject. The intensity of the darks on outer thirds require the viewer to look directly into the window, where the most detail is on the subject. Certainly it would be a completely different image, but I’m curious about how giving more information in the dark areas would change the scene.

  4. I like how the picture is focused on the girl in the window and everything else is blacked out so your eyes go right towards the girl in the window.

  5. I enjoy the picture as well as the way you want to focus on the girl looking out of the window. However, the darkness overall really take away all the details that should make the picture looks more interesting. Try to have a closer angle and capture the details on the girls face, as well as somewhat actions happening outside the window.

  6. You see more than shadows and highlighting in this image. I like how it tells a story of the girl and allows your imagination to see the picture in a different way.

  7. I really enjoyed looking at this image. The natural light from the window really captures your attention. I like how you used the dark room and then used the window to highlight the girl. This photo makes you wonder!! What is she looking at? What is she thinking? etc.

  8. I really love the composition of this photo. I would though like just a bit more detail on the edges of the objects you can make out in the dark on either side of the image. Perhaps also pulling back the highlights at the top of the window just a touch.

  9. I enjoy the composition of this photo, the tone that it sets is very dramatic. The light source emphasizes the subject of the piece, and it really speaks to me. I can’t tell if I want more information from the surrounding room or less.

  10. I like the composition of the image, however I think there is too much negative space. Perhaps you can zoom on to the frame a little more.

  11. I love this black and white photograph. I think its one of the best that ive seen so far in this webiste. I like how the posture of the girls is been captured more on the picture. It gives a very dark and lonely feeling too.

  12. Wow, I am in love with this image! Normally with window shots, it can be harder to capture details of what is in the focal point or what is even beyond the window. I particularly love the parallel lines in the center of the image that allows the viewers eyes to jump around from the dark sides to the white middle where the model sits. I also like that although the sides are mostly black there are little hints or counters or shelves where the light hits it! Overall, I thoroughly enjoy this image and the mood it sets!

  13. James,
    I enjoy the lighting within this picture. I appreciate that the individual is looking away from the camera rather than looking at the camera. I like how the light from outside is brightening up the image and that the light is the only way that the individual is brightened up. Plus, I like how you can see the patterns from the wall outside.

  14. I love the contrast of darks and lights in this image. It draws me to want to look out of the window, just as the subject is doing in the image. I also like the reverse symmetry of both sides of the image, one side there is an object in the top corner and on the other side it is in the bottom corner.

Leave a Reply

