12 thoughts on “Nate France”

  1. Dear Nate,
    You have a very artistic eye. I love looking at pictures different buildings. It’s amazing how people can take any old building and then it into a beautiful picture.

    Sincerely,
    Amanda

  2. I really like your images! They are very powerful. Your subject of the images is really great as well. I like how the 2nd image was taken from a distance because it really shows what the location was like in a way. It feels like I can picture being there because you focused in on that location.

  3. The images lack the whites and blacks; they have an overall grayness to them. I suggest bringing up the filter to get the ends of the spectrum as well. The compositions in both images look great; in both images the elements within the buildings lead the eye to the main component of the composition.

  4. Hey Nate,

    Nice revisiting these shots from last semester. I love how you’ve toned down the contrast to give us seemingly flat images in a dynamic 3D setting. It adds to the uneasiness of these shots.

  5. Nate,
    I find black and white imagery very pleasing to the eye. The majority of pictures that I take tend to be black and white. I enjoyed that you utilized architecture as your subject matter for the photographs.

  6. I love the fact these pictures are in black and white it adds another layer to the photo making it look like there was more thought put in than if it were in color. Black and white photos of architecture are my favorite since there isn’t too much going on as the viewer you are focused on the architecture not why the building is red, very well done.

  7. These images are so powerful! I love the framings, allowing the great 3D feeling.
    So many feelings can be taken from the drama of the old buildings

  8. Lovin the quietness of these abandoned spaces. It really gives context to the history of that space and how time passes. You get a sense oh how that space was used in the past that is kind of all you are left with in viewing these images.

  9. I love the ambiguity in these images, especially the second, of whether these spaces are long abandoned or people just walked out of frame. The second image could easily be a shuttered plant of some sort, but then the latter in the center of the image also looks as though it could have just been propped up and left there earlier that day.

  10. These pictures immediately caught my eye for how you set them up. I imagine that I am in a museum looking at historic photos when I see yours. Well done on setting up the black and white to really add depth to these pictures

  11. The composition of each image is strong and leads the eye to a focal point. It looks like the contrast is a bit washed out though. I think the images would be even stronger if you had more dynamic range of whites and blacks in the pictures.

Leave a Reply

