18 thoughts on “Jessica Salvino”

  1. This reminds me of college life. It makes me think that finals or other exams are coming up because of how messy and cluttered everything. I also get the feeling of sadness from the blue hues in the image. I definitely sympathize since I’m in that position, so great work!

  2. I like your perspective to present daily tasks and personal objects. Taking the photos right above creates images that are really flat, which I think perfectly suits your concept. The blue tone adds a little bit of coldness, which I interpreted as a feeling of detachment from daily routines. Maybe you can try to push further to create even flatter images.

  3. I am curious as to what the purple overcast in your photographs mean. The images themselves remind me of a horror vacui scene where everything has to be covered. It could possibly just mean a portrait of someone and all of the things they have accumulated in their life, but I am still a little confused on the purple aspect. It could remind me a little bit of the technology and how screens portray different lightings than real life.

  4. I like the glowing effect that you put over these images. They remind me of sitting at a cluttered desk on a school night with a list of things to do. The overhead perspective of these shots make them relatable

  5. These pictures are crowded, but every time I look at them I find something new. The use of the mundane is really effective, and the consistent color scheme really ties it all together.

  6. I like the blue tones of your photos! It reminds me of that college-like florescence lighting that is everywhere on campus. The textbooks and stuff strewn everywhere reminds me of my own messy desk. Nice work!

  7. I like that the pictures capture what a college desk looks like. It is crowded but at the same time, it works because the ideas all go with one another. I also enjoy that the computer and books are tilted instead of being straight on as it is more appealing to the eye.

  8. I like how within these photos there is a feeling of clutter and disorder, this makes these photos easily relatable to the viewer. The blue tone that is persistent in both photos ties them together very nicely.

  9. I like the pictures you have taken and specifically the tinted blue color it has. These pictures are cool because has a narrative that can go with it. The clustered mess on top of a desk with books papers and headphones makes you think that it is a stereotypical college student. There is not order on this persons desk which makes it interesting to photograph.

  10. These photos are really interesting. I enjoy the chaos of them and there is a lot to look at in each image. I think that the second image is particularly interesting because almost everything in the photo is upside down. This provides a strong sense of tension and makes you feel like everything is going to fall out of the photo. I also like the placement of the objects; in particular, I like how you draw us to the objects you want us to see most by putting them on the intersection points of the rule of thirds. I think this is a good way to make certain things stand out in pictures like these. I like the use of cooler tones and the contrast you have in these pictures as well. Great job!

  11. I like your picture when you show the study scene of students. Even though the color of the picture is in blue and the scene is chaos but we still able to see the picture. If possible, you can change the color of the picture into the warmer tone so we will be able to see more things from the pictures. Two picture was taken from a different angle which creates a cool effect for the viewers.

  12. I like the perspective in these photos. The blue tones in both of the photos gives a feeling of sadness which really ties together with the stress and clutter of a college student life. Great work, very relatable!

  13. The mood in these images fit so well with the feelings and emotions tied the studying. The blue light and clutter gives me a sense of stress and places me in the mindset of studying. I think it is interesting to see different study spaces and consider how differently every person studies and works.

  14. I really like how this series represents a slice of college life without being overly obvious. Even the way the props are aligned subtly cues viewers in to a variety of common themes in college. The computer displays a meme about binary trees; the condom wrappers are conveniently placed on a book cover intended to represent female genitalia; and the video game on the textbook represents daily distractions from responsibility. These images convey a lot of information efficiently.

  15. I love these two photos! They are similar, but different. I like how some of the objects are the same in the two, but they are set up very differently. Also, the blue hue to the images gives it a stressful feeling along with the messiness of the photos. Looks like a student’s life!

  16. I think you did a good job of maintaining continuity between your photos with the lighting you used. The blue-purple overcast helps make it really obvious that this is a series. I also really like the composition of these photos; it gives the viewers a lot to look at throughout the photos. I also enjoy the straight lines in your photo. I think it makes the photo flow nicely.

  17. Jessica – these flat lays are so intriguing. Although made of simple, everyday items, the tone of the image as a whole brings out interesting aspects of the collection. The frame was filled with objects, and the image was constructed what seems to be very naturally. The set makes me consider how I can look at my own daily environment in an interesting way.

  18. These photos are really well composed; each of them maintains my interest for a while, as I feel like there’s more and more detail to be seen in them. The setup for these was really well done. A little detail I noticed is that the two photos we can see here have different laptops in them, which makes me interested into whether that continues throughout the series or if there are several laptops that reappear, maybe as a sort of narrative. The blue hue over these images is a really good choice. It gives the photos an impression that makes me uncomfortable and stressed out, which really adds to the theme.

Leave a comment